02 March 2017

SUND Researcher Receives New Innovation Prize

Innovator Prize

Mads Tvillinggaard Bonde from the Department of Drug Design and Pharmacology has received Innovation Fund Denmark’s new prize, the Innovator Prize. The prize was presented at the EliteForsk Conference on 23 February, where SUND researchers also received the EliteForsk prize and travel grants, and where this year’s Sapere Aude recipients were honoured.

Innovator Prize recipient Mads Bonde (3rd from the left)
Photo: Ditte Valente

Since 2011 Affiliate Associate Professor at the Department of Drug Design and Pharmacology (ILF) Mads Tvillinggaard Bonde has been co-founder and co-owner of the company LABSTER, which uses virtual reality to create virtual teaching environments that combine elements from games, laboratory testing and traditional teaching. The company’s solutions are used in teaching conducted at both Danish and American universities.

Now Mads Tvillinggaard Bonde, who has been affiliated to ILF since March 2016, has received Innovation Fund Denmark’s Innovator Prize, which was awarded for the first time ever at the EliteForsk Conference on 23 February. With the 2017 Innovator Prize he receives a personal honorary award of DKK 250,000 and a work of graphic art by Photographer Nicolai Howalt.

A Good Day for SUND Research There was reason for SUND and the University of Copenhagen to be proud at this year’s EliteForsk Conference. As described last week, Klaus Høyer (Department of Public Health) received the EliteForsk prize, while Andreas Stribolt Rigas (Department of Clinical Medicine) and Ulrik Hvid Mistarz (Department of Pharmacy) both received EliteForsk travel grants.

In addition, the EliteForsk Conference also honoured this year’s recipients of Sapere Aude grants from the Danish Council for Independent Research (announced in June 2016), which included five researchers from SUND: Associate Professor Troels Høyer Scheel (Department of Immunology and Microbiology), Associate Professor Peter Nejsum (Department of Veterinary Disease Biology) and Associate Professor Alicia Lundby (Center for Protein Research) received Sapere Aude DFF-Research Leader grants, while Signe Emilie Cremer (Department of Veterinary Clinical and Animal Sciences) and Alberto Oddo (Department of Drug Design and Pharmacology) received DFF-Research Talent grants